Student Leadership Award

The student leadership award recognizes a student currently pursuing a post-secondary degree who demonstrates leadership and outstanding commitment to the Ottawa Jewish community. Nominations are solicited on an annual basis.


All nominees must have volunteered for a minimum of 3 years and be currently involved. Additional criteria for consideration includes:


•    Proven leadership, with further potential for growth and involvement.
•    Demonstrates ability to motivate and inspire others.
•    Current involvement positively impacts Ottawa’s Jewish community.


Nominees must be a member in good standing of the Jewish Federation of Ottawa (minimum gift to the Annual Campaign) and cannot previously have received this award..


Nominations for the award shall be solicited on an annual basis in the Ottawa Jewish Bulletin, at and electronically throughout the community. Nominations may be submitted at any time during the year. Nominations received by April 16, 2021 shall be considered for the award and will be presented at Federation’s Annual General Meeting held in June 2021. Nominations will be considered for the year in which they are received, as well as in the following year.


To be considered, nominations must include 2 letters of support, including one from an organization. The nomination must specifically address the above criteria.


Nature of the Award:  
A gift of a mezuzah and a framed certificate will be given to the award winner.


The Student Leadership Award recognizes students currently pursuing a post-secondary degree who demonstrate leadership and outstanding commitment to the Ottawa Jewish Community. In 2020, we are recognizing two student leaders from the Jewish Law Students Association (JLSA) at the University of Ottawa: Daniel Kuhnreich, the 2019-2020 president, and Cara Lebenzon, the 2019-2020 vice-president.

Working together, second-year law students Daniel and Cara, along with their executive board, brought the Jewish Law Students Association (JLSA) to unprecedented levels of participation and success, organizing Shabbat dinners and happy hours with special guests, mentoring incoming students, and securing funding for JLSA programs through fundraising and grants.

As well, Cara established links between the JLSA and the Bora Laskin Law Society, the association of Jewish lawyers in Ottawa, ensuring that young Jewish law graduates in Ottawa will continue to be involved in the Jewish community. Daniel also served on the University of Ottawa Student Union, helping Hillel Ottawa create positive relationships on campus.

Nominate someone online


Download a Nomination Form pdf

Please email nominating form and supporting documents to or drop them off in person to the front desk of Soloway JCC,  Federation Chair of the Community Award Selection Committee.

2016   Arielle Ellis

2017   Eyal Podolsky

2018   Jewish Student Leaders at the University of Ottawa

2019   Seth Kerzner and Tom Podolsky

2020   Daniel Kuhnreich & Cara Lebenzon